southernnoob.blogg.se

Pixinsight core settings
Pixinsight core settings




pixinsight core settings
  1. #Pixinsight core settings pro#
  2. #Pixinsight core settings software#

#Pixinsight core settings pro#

The awesome thing is that Mitch is also a Sharpcap Pro user, a Altair Hypercam user and a PixInsight user. It was this video that held the hidden gem. I was having a browse through the channel, and noticed a video that he produced around 6 months ago. He has produced an excellent series of 12 tutorials for calibrating and processing data in PixInsight. Over the last 18 months, I have been following the 'Astro Dude' YouTube channel, run by Mitch. I would go through the whole calibration process, and still be left with a final image containing all the noise and anomalies which should of been removed. In my case though, I couldn't get this to work reliably. Theoretically, you are then left with a much cleaner set of light frames which can then be further calibrated before finally being stacked to produce your single image, ready for processing.

#Pixinsight core settings software#

The software (in this case PixInsight for me) looks at the master dark frame and subtracts whatever the anomalies are in there from your light frames. All the noise and anomalies in this master dark is then compared to each of the light frames. During the calibration process, in principle, you stack up all your dark frames to produce one single 'master dark' frame. Taking dark frames (exposures with the cap on) gives you a series of frames that contain nothing other than whatever is produced purely by the camera and the imaging train. These could be sensor anomalies as is the case with the Altair Hypercam, but also pixel noise etc. But, they also contain lots of other anomalies. The light frames capture all the detail from the target you are imaging. Here's the theory if you're not familiar with the process. Particularly in the dark and light frames.Ī single dark frame, stretched in PixInsight shows up the anomaly. I refer to the thing that is common with the highly sensitive Hypercam 183c series, and that is the amp glow and sensor/star burst that appears in the right side frames. In truth, I probably did, but could I repeat it? No.

pixinsight core settings

Last September, I thought I made a huge break through in the calibration stages of my images. Good times! But, the big development I made this time around, and the thing that I had learnt came at the calibration stage of processing. To have everything set up, working away without too much hassle was a timely reminder to me of how much I had missed sitting outside in sub zero temperatures, getting annoyed with neighbours lights, and not being able to feel my fingers. It was great to get out under the stars again.






Pixinsight core settings